Rules and norms

DIN EN 795

DIN EN 795 The European standard EN 795 for "Personal Protective Equipment - Anchor Devices" defines the requirements and test criteria for anchor devices.

When it comes to DIN standards, it is first of all important to know what the DIN standards are and what they are used for. Since the new standards are being adopted immediately at the European level, the abbreviation EN is added to all new standards.

  • The DIN stands for the "German Institute for Standardization". The institute defines the criteria according to which the standards for the manufacture of the various products are set. Here, experts from the various areas work on defining these criteria, taking into account the current state of the art and scientific aspects in the decisions. This is how the rules are drawn up which, ideally, should then apply to all products in the respective area.

But it is also important to know that the various manufacturers do not have to adhere to the DIN standards. This only applies if this is contractually agreed. However, if you use products in areas that are legally obliged to use products that are manufactured according to the DIN standard, an assessment by the DIN standard is definitely worthwhile for all manufacturers.

  • The EN stands for the European standard. Since cooperation within Europe is getting closer and closer, the standards have also adapted to this. The EU strives to ensure a uniform standard, which is precisely why the standards are published uniformly. The EN standards are therefore standardized for all standardization organizations in the EU. But not only all new standards can be given the designation EN. All existing DIN standards can also be suggested and then transferred to the EU standardization catalog. Which standards are included is adopted by 3 European bodies.

So if DIN EN standards appear, these standards are former DIN standards that were standardized through a process at EU level and now appear as these in the EU standardization catalog. In general, all standardization organizations can propose a standard for the EN standard and then have it checked by the 3 committees before it is included in the standardization catalog.

Since the demand is growing and the production according to the DIN EN standards is so great, there are now 24,000 DIN standards. Testing according to the DIN standard ensures a quality standard that is important for most consumers. That is why most of the manufacturers work according to the requirements of the DIN standard and thus ensure that their products are certified.

The DIN standard DIN EN 795 is therefore a DIN standard that has been included in the standardization catalog of the EU and has received the addition DIN EN.

But what about the number? What exactly does DIN EN 795 regulate? The number of a DIN standard describes the exact area to which a standard relates. It is also regulated which products fall under the respective number of the DIN standard. This ensures that an exact determination is possible and what type of products it includes.

DIN EN 795 therefore regulates the requirements that must be technically fulfilled for all personal fall equipment and anchor devices. The various standards that must be met by personal fall protection or an anchor device are therefore defined in DIN EN 795. Above all, this includes the loads that have to be withstood and how high the forces that have to be transferred to the structure have to be in order to ensure a high level of safety.

But also the technical solutions that can and should be used are regulated in DIN EN 795. In this way, the standards are specified that are technically safe and offer the best solutions.

It also specifies how these prerequisites are checked and what is necessary in order to obtain certification according to DIN EN 795.

Only when all of these standardized criteria have been met can a personal fall protection device or anchor device receive certification by DIN EN 795.

DIN EN 795 differentiates between 5 different types of fall protection:

  • Type A: Individual anchor points firmly connected to the subsurface, permanent individual anchor points.
  • Type B: Temporary attachment points that can be completely removed after use, i.e. mobile attachment points.
  • Type C: lifeline systems.
  • Type D: rail safety systems.
  • Type E: anchor devices that are held by their own weight.

Due to the exact examination of the EN standards, an additional classification of types A, C and D is necessary. Because these are not only part of the personal fall protection, but also firmly connected to a building, a construction. For this reason, DIN EN 795 cannot be used as a sufficient standard for these constructions and requires additional testing. For this reason, either a general building permit from the German Institute for Building Technology or a permit from the state building authority is required for these types.

The DIN EN standards offer the great advantage that they create a uniform standard within the EU. The quality and safety are thus guaranteed and the products that are certified with these standards are identified as standardized. This means that, as a consumer, you have the advantage of knowing that you are purchasing a high-quality product or receiving a service that is produced in accordance with technical standards and all scientific aspects. A characteristic for high quality and security that ensures trust.

Manufacturers or service providers also benefit from this, because certification according to DIN EN standard arouses exactly that, trust in customers, who then invest and keep coming back. Although certification initially costs money, it is convincing because it allows customers to build up security and advertise the company.

DIN EN 795 is very important in relation to safety. This is because it deals with elements of fall protection, which are extremely important to ensure work safety and thus to ensure safety when working at heights. This is the only way to ensure good fall protection.